top of page
Battle of New Market
Union Order of Battle

Department of West Virginia

Maj. Gen. Franz Sigel

1st Infantry Division

Brig. Gen. Jeremiah C. Sullivan

1st Brigade

Col. Augustus Moor

18th Connecticut Infantry

Maj. Henry Peale

28th Ohio Infantry

Lieut. Col. Gottfried Becker

116th Ohio Infantry

Col. James Washburn

123rd Ohio Infantry

Maj. Horace Kellogg

2nd Brigade

Col. Joseph Thoburn

34th Massachusetts Infantry

Col. George D. Wells

54th Pennsylvania Infantry

Col. Jacob M. Campbell

1st West Virginia Infantry

Lieut. Col. Jacob Weddle

12th West Virginia Infantry

Col. William B. Curtis

2st Cavalry Division

Maj. Gen. Julius Stahel

1st Brigade

Col. William B. Tibbits

1st New York (Veteran)

Col. Robert F. Taylor

1st New York (Lincoln)

Lieut. Col. Alonzo W. Adams

1st Maryland, Potomac Home Brigade


Maj. J. Townsend Daniel

21st New York Cavalry

Maj. Charles G. Otis

14th Pennsylvania Cavalry (detachment)

Capt. Ashbel F. Duncan

Lieut. Col. William Blakely

2nd Brigade

Col. John E. Wynkoop

15th New York Cavalry

Maj. H. Roessler

20th Pennsylvania Cavalry

Maj. Robert B. Douglas

22nd Pennsylvania Cavalry (detachment)

1st Lieut. Caleb McNulty


Maryland Light, Battery B

Capt. Alonzo Snow

New York Light, 30th Battery

Capt. Albert von Kleiser

1st West Virginia Light, Battery D

Capt. John Carlin

1st West Virginia, Battery G

Capt. Chatham T. Ewing

5th U.S., Battery B

Capt. Henry A. du Pont

bottom of page