top of page
Chattanooga Campaign
Army of the Tennessee

Military Division of the Mississippi

Maj. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant

General Staff

Chief of Staff

Brig. Gen. John A. Rawlins

Chief of Transportation

Col. Joseph D. Webster

Army of the Tennessee

Maj. Gen. William T. Sherman

XV Corps

Maj. Gen. Francis P. Blair

1st Division

Brig. Gen. Peter J. Osterhaus

1st Brigade

Brig. Gen. Charles R. Woods

13th Illinois Infantry

Lieut. Col. Frederick W. Partridge (w)

Maj. Douglas R. Bushnell (k)

Capt. George P. Brown

3rd Missouri Infantry

Lieut. Col. Theodore Meumann

12th Missouri Infantry

Col. Hugo Wangelin (w)

Lieut. Col. Jacob Kaercher

17th Missouri Infantry

Col. John F. Cramer

27th Missouri Infantry

Col. Thomas Curley

29th Missouri Infantry

Col. James Peckham (w)

Maj. Philip H. Murphy

31st Missouri Infantry

Lieut. Col. Samuel P. Simpson

32nd Missouri Infantry

Lieut. Col. Henry C. Warmoth

76th Ohio Infantry

Maj. Willard Warner

2nd Brigade

Col. James A. Williamson

4th Iowa Infantry

Lieut. Col. George Burton

9th Iowa Infantry

Col. David Carskaddon

25th Iowa Infantry

Col. George A. Stone

26th Iowa Infantry

Col. Milo Smith

30th Iowa Infantry

Lieut. Col. Aurelius Roberts

31st Iowa Infantry

Lieut. Col. Jeremiah W. Jenkins


Capt. Henry H. Griffiths

Iowa Light, 1st Battery

Lieut. James M. Williams

2nd Missouri Light, Battery F

Capt. Clemens Landgraeber

Ohio Light, 4th Battery

Capt. George Froelich

2nd Division

Brig. Gen. Morgan L. Smith

1st Brigade

Brig. Gen. Giles A. Smith (w)

Col. Nathan W. Tupper

55th Illinois Infantry

Col. Oscar Malmborg

116th Illinois Infantry

Col. Nathan W. Tupper

Lieut. Col. James P. Boyd

127th Illinois Infantry

Lieut. Col. Frank S. Curtiss

6th Missouri Infantry

Lieut. Col. Ira Boutell

8th Missouri Infantry

Lieut. Col. David C. Coleman

57th Ohio Infantry

Lieut. Col. Samuel R. Mott

13th U.S., 1st Battalion

Capt. Charles C. Smith

2nd Brigade

Brig. Gen. Joseph A. J. Lightburn

83rd Indiana Infantry

Col. Benjamin J. Spooner

30th Ohio Infantry

Col. Theodore Jones

37th Ohio Infantry

Lieut. Col. Louis Von Blessingh

47th Ohio Infantry

Col. Augustus C. Parry

54th Ohio Infantry

Maj. Robert Williams, Jr.

4th West Virginia Infantry

Col. James H. Dayton


1st Illinois Light, Battery A

Capt. Peter P. Wood

1st Illinois Light, Battery B

Capt. Israel P. Rumsey

1st Illinois Light, Battery H

Lieut. Francis DeGress

4th Division

Brig. Gen. Hugh B. Ewing

1st Brigade

Col. John M. Loomis

26th Illinois Infantry

Lieut. Col. Robert A. Gillmore

90th Illinois Infantry

Col. Timothy O'Meara (k)

Lieut. Col. Owen Stuart

12th Indiana Infantry

Col. Reuben Williams

100th Indiana Infantry

Lieut. Col. Albert Heath

2nd Brigade

Brig. Gen. John M. Corse (w)

Col. Charles C. Walcutt

40th Illinois Infantry

Maj. Hiram W. Hall

103rd Illinois Infantry

Col. William A. Dickerman

6th Iowa Infantry

Lieut. Col. Alexander J. Miller

46th Ohio Infantry

Col. Charles C. Walcutt

Capt Isaac N. Alexander

3rd Brigade

Col. Joseph R. Cockerill

48th Illinois Infantry

Lieut. Col. Lucien Greathouse

97th Indiana Infantry

Col. Robert F. Catterson

99th Indiana Infantry

Col. Alexander Fowler

53rd Ohio Infantry

Col. Wells S. Jones

70th Ohio Infantry

Maj. William B. Brown


Capt. Henry Richardson

1st Illinois Light, Battery F

Capt. John T. Cheney

1st Illinois Light, Battery I

Lieut. Josiah H. Burton

1st Missouri Light, Battery D

Lieut. Byron M. Callender

XVII Corps

2nd Division

Brig. Gen. John E. Smith

1st Brigade

Col. Jesse I. Alexander

63rd Illinois Infantry

Col. Joseph B. McCown

48th Indiana Infantry

Lieut. Col. Edward J. Wood

59th Indiana Infantry

Capt. Willford H. Welman

4th Minnesota Infantry

Lieut. Col. E. Tourtelotte

18th Wisconsin Infantry

Col. Gabriel Bouck

2nd Brigade

Col. Green B. Raum (w)

Col. Francis C. Deimling

Col. Clark R. Wever

56th Illinois Infantry

Maj. Pinckney J. Welsh (w)

17th Iowa Infantry

Col. Clark R. Wever

Maj. John F. Walden

10th Missouri Infantry

Col. Francis C. Deimling

Lieut. Col. Christian Happel

24th Missouri Infantry, Company E

Capt. William W. McCammon

80th Ohio Infantry

Lieut. Col. Pren Metham

3rd Brigade

Brig. Gen. Charles L. Matthies (w)

Col. Benjamin D. Dean

Col. Jabez Banbury

93rd Illinois Infantry

Col. Holden Putnam (k)

Lieut. Col. Nicholas C. Buswell

5th Iowa Infantry

Col. Jabez Banbury

Lieut. Col. Ezekiel S. Sampson

10th Iowa Infantry

Lieut. Col. Paris P. Henderson

Maj. Nathaniel McCalla (w)

26th Missouri Infantry

Col. Benjamin D. Dean


Capt. Henry Dillon

Cogswell's Illinois Battery

Capt. William Cogswell

Wisconsin Light, 6th Battery

Lieut. Samuel F. Clark

Wisconsin Light, 12th Battery

Capt. William Zickerick

bottom of page