top of page
Battle of Champion Hill
Union Order of Battle

Army of the Tennessee

Maj. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant

XIII Corps

Maj. Gen. John A. McClernand


3rd Illinois Cavalry (Company L)

Capt. David R. Sparks

9th Division

Brig. Gen. Peter J. Osterhaus

1st Brigade

Brig. Gen. Theophilus T. Garrard

118th Illinois Infantry

Col. John G. Fonda

49th Indiana Infantry

69th Indiana Infantry

Col. Thomas W. Bennett

7th Kentucky Infantry

Lieut. Col. John Lucas

17th Brigade

Col. Daniel W. Lindsey

22nd Kentucky Infantry

Lieut. Col. George W. Monroe

16th Ohio Infantry

Capt. Eli W. Botsford

42nd Ohio Infantry

Maj. Frederick A. Williams

114th Ohio Infantry

Col. John Cradlebaugh


Battery G, 1st Michigan Light Artillery

Capt. Charles H. Lamphere

1st Wisconsin Light Artillery

Lieut. Charles B. Kimball


3rd Illinois Cavalry (Companies A, E, & K)

Capt. John L. Campbell

10th Division

Brig. Gen. Andrew J. Smith

1st Brigade

Brig. Gen. Stephen G. Burbridge

16th Indiana Infantry

Col. Thomas J. Lucas

67th Indiana Infantry

Lieut.Col. Theodore E. Buehler

83rd Ohio Infantry

Col. Frederick W. Moore

23rd Wisconsin Infantry

Col. Joshua J. Guppey

2nd Brigade

Col. William J. Landram

77th Illinois Infantry

Col. David P. Grier

97th Illinois Infantry

Col. Friend S. Rutherford

108th Illinois Infantry

Lieut. Col. Charles Turner

130th Illinois Infantry

Col. Nathaniel Niles

19th Kentucky Infantry

Lieut. Col. John Cowan

48th Ohio Infantry

Lieut. Col. Job R. Parker


Chicago Mercantile Battery, Illinois Light Artillery

Capt. Patrick H. White

17th Ohio Light Artillery

Capt. Ambrose A. Blount


4th Indiana Cavalry (Company C)

Capt. Andrew P. Gallagher

12th Division

Brig. Gen. Alvin P. Hovey

1st Birgade

Brig. Gen. George F. McGinnis

11th Indiana Infantry

Col. Daniel Macauley (w)

Lieut. Col. William W. Darnell

24th Indiana Infantry

Col. William T. Spicely

34th Indiana Infantry

Maj. Robert B. Jones

46th Indiana Infantry

Col. Thomas H. Bringhurst

29th Wisconsin Infantry

Col. Charles R. Gill

2nd Brigade

Col. James R. Slack

47th Indiana Infantry

Lieut. Col. John A. McLaughlin

24th Iowa Infantry

28th Iowa Infantry

Col. John Connell

56th Ohio Infantry

Lieut. Col. William H. Raynor


2nd Ohio Battery

Lieut. Augustus Beach

16th Ohio Battery

Capt. James A. Mitchell (m, w)

Lieut. Russell P. Twist

Battery A, 1st Missouri Light Artillery

Capt. George W. Schofield


1st Indiana Cavalry (Company C)

Lieut. James L. Carey

14th Division

Brig. Gen. Eugene A. Carr

1st Brigade

Brig. Gen. William P. Benton

33rd Illinois Infantry

Col. Charles E. Lippincott

99th Illinois Infantry

Col. George W. K. Bailey

8th Indiana Infantry

Col. David Shunk

18th Indiana Infantry

Col. Henry D. Washburn

2nd Brigade

Brig. Gen. Michael K. Lawler

21st Iowa Infantry

Col. Samuel Merrill

22nd Iowa Infantry

Col. William M. Stone

23rd Iowa Infantry

Col. William H. Kinsman

11th Wisconsin Infantry

Col. Charles L. Harris


Battery A, 2nd Illinois Light Artillery (4 guns)

Lieut. Frank B. Fenton

1st Indiana Light Artillery

Capt. Martin Klauss

Unattached Units

2nd Illinois Cavalry (7 companies)

Lieut. Col. Daniel B. Bush Jr.

6th Missouri Cavalry (7 companies)

Col. Clark Wright

Kentucky Engineers & Mechanics

Capt. William F. Patterson

XV Corps

Maj. Gen. William T. Sherman

2nd Division

(attached to XIII Corps)

Maj. Gen. Francis Preston Blair, Jr.

1st Brigade

Col. Giles A. Smith

113th Illinois Infantry

Col. George B. Hoge

116th Illinois Infantry

Col. Nathan W. Tupper

6th Missouri Infantry

Lieut. Col. Ira Boutell

8th Missouri Infantry

Lieut. Col. David C. Coleman

13th U.S. Infantry, 1st Battalion

Capt. E. Washington

2nd Brigade

Col. Thomas Kilby Smith

55th Illinois Infantry

Col. Oscar Malmborg

127th Illinois Infantry

Col. Hamilton N. Elridge

83rd Indiana Infantry

Col. Benjamin J. Spooner

54th Ohio Infantry

Lieut. Col. Cyrus W. Fisher

57th Ohio Infantry

Col. Americas V. Rice


Battery A, 1st Illinois Light Artillery

Capt. Peter P. Wood

Battery B, 1st Illinois Light Artillery

Capt. Samuel E. Barrett

XVII Corps

Maj. Gen. James B. McPherson

Provisional Cavalry Battalion

Capt. John S. Foster

2nd Illinois Cavalry (Companies A & B)

Lieut. W. B. Cummins

4th Missouri Cavalry (Company F)

Lieut. A. Muelller

4th Independent Company Ohio Cavalry

Capt. John S. Foster

3rd Division

Maj. Gen. John A. Logan

1st Brigade

Brig. Gen. John E. Smith

20th Illinois Infantry

Maj. Daniel Bradley

31st Illinois Infantry

Lieut. Col. John D. Reese

45th Illinois Infantry

Col. Jasper A. Maltby

124th Illinois Infantry

Col. Thomas J. Sloan

23rd Indiana Infantry

Lieut. Col. William P. Davis

2nd Brigade

Brig. Gen. Mortimer D. Leggett

30th Illinois Infantry

Lieut. Col. Warren Shedd

20th Ohio Infantry

Col. Manning F. Force

68th Ohio Infantry

Lieut. Col. John S. Snook (k)

78th Ohio Infantry

Lieut. Col. Greenbury F. Wiles

3rd Brigade

Brig. Gen. John Dunlap Stevenson

8th Illinois Infantry

Lieut. Col. Robert H. Sturgess

81st Illinois Infantry

Col. James J. Dollins

7th Missouri Infantry

Capt. Robert Buchanan

32nd Ohio Infantry

Col. Benjamin F. Potts


Battery D, 1st Illinois Light Artillery (4 guns)

Capt. Henry A. Rogers

Battery L, 2nd Illinois Light Artillery (4 guns)

Capt. William H. Bolton

Battery H, 1st Michigan Light Artillery

Capt. Samuel De Golyer

3rd Ohio Battery

Capt. William S. Williams

7th Division

Brig. Gen. Marcellus M. Crocker

Brig. Gen. Isaac F. Quinby

1st Brigade

Col. John B. Sanborn

48th Indiana Infantry

Col. Norman Eddy

59th Indiana Infantry

Col. Jesse I. Alexander

4th Minnesota Infantry

Lieut. Col. John E. Tourtellotte

18th Wisconsin Infantry

Col. Gabriel Bouck

2nd Brigade

Col. Samuel A. Holmes

17th Iowa Infantry

Col. David B. Hillis

10th Missouri Infantry

Lieut. Col. Leonidas Horney (k)

Maj. Francis C. Deimling

24th Missouri Infantry (Company E)

Lieut. Vincent Chalefoux

3rd Brigade

Col. George B. Boomer

93rd Illinois Infantry

Col. Holden Putnam

5th Iowa Infantry

Lieut. Col. Ezekiel S. Sampson

10th Iowa Infantry

Col. William E. Small

26th Missouri Infantry

Maj. Charles F. Brown


Capt. Frank C. Sands

Company M, 1st Missouri Light Artillery

Lieut. Junius G. W. McMurrary

11th Ohio Battery

Lieut. Fletcher E. Armstrong

6th Wisconsin Artillery

Capt. Henry Dillon

12th Wisconsin Light Artillery (4 guns)

Capt. William Zickerick

bottom of page