top of page
Battle of New Madrid
Confederate Order of Battle

Organization of Brigadier-General McCown's command at New Madrid and Island No. 10 about February 28, 1862.

Col. E. W. Gantt's Brigade

11th Arkansas

12th Arkansas

Stewarts' Heavy Artillery (1 Company)

Upton's Heavy Artillery (1 Company)

Missouri Cavalry (1 Company)


Col. R. P. Neely's Brigade

12th Louisiana

4th Tennessee

31st Tennessee


Col. S. F. Marks' Brigade

11th Louisiana

5th Louisiana Battalion

Bankhead's Battery


Brig. Gen. A. P. Stewart's Brigade

4th Arkansas Battalion

5th Tennessee

[55th] Tennessee

Heavy Artillery Corps


Not Brigaded

1st Alabama, Tennessee, and Mississippi

40th Tennessee

46th Tennessee

Johnson's Siege Artillery (1 Company)

Point Coupee Artillery

Rucker's Artillery (1 Company)

Haywood's Cavalry (1 Company)

Hudson's Squadron

Neely's Cavalry (1 Company)

Wheeler's Cavalry (1 Company)

bottom of page