top of page
Battle of Pleasant Hill
Confederate Order of Battle

Confederate District of West Louisiana

Lieut. Gen. Richard Taylor

Walker’s Infantry Division

Maj. Gen. George Walker


1st Brigade

Brig. Gen. Thomas N. Waul


12th Texas Infantry

Col. Overton C. Young

18th Texas Infantry

Col. William H. King

22nd Texas Infantry

Col. Richard B. Hubbard

13th Texas Cavalry (dismounted)

Col. Anderson Crawford


2nd Brigade

Brig. Gen. Horace Randal


11th Texas Infantry

Col. Oran Milo Roberts

14th Texas Infantry

Col. Edward Clark

28th Texas Infantry

Col. Eli H. Baxter


3rd Brigade

Brig. Gen. William R. Scurry


16th Texas Infantry

Col. George Flournoy

17th Texas Infantry

Col. George Washington Jones

19th Texas Infantry

Col. Richard Waterhouse

16th Texas Cavalry (dismounted)

Col. William Fitzhugh


Mouton’s Infantry Division

Brig. Gen. Alfred Mouton (k)

Brig. Gen. Camille de Polignac


Polignac’s Brigade

Brig. Gen. Camille de Polignac

Col. James R. Taylor (k)

Lieut. Col. Robert D. Stone


15th Texas Infantry

Lieut. James E. Harrison

22nd Texas Cavalry (dismounted)

Lieut. Col. Robert D. Stone

34th Texas Cavalry (dismounted)

Lieut. Col. John H. Caudle


Gray’s Brigade

Col. Henry Gray


18th Louisiana Infantry

Col. Leopold L. Armant

Crescent (24th) Louisiana

Col. J. H. Beard

28th Louisiana Infantry

Lieut. Col. William Walker (k)



Maj. T. A. Faries


Cornay’s Battery

Capt. Florian O. Cornay (k)

Lieut. John B. Tarleton


Detachment from Sterling Price’s Army

Brig. Gen. James Churchill


Arkansas Infantry

Brig. Gen. James Camp Tappan


Tappan’s Brigade

Col. H. L. Grinstead


19th and 24th Arkansas Infantry

Lieut. Col. William R. Hardy

27th and 38th Arkansas Infantry

Col. Robert G. Shaver

33rd Arkansas Infantry

Lieut. Col. Thomas D. Thomson


Gause’s Brigade

Col. Lucien C. Gause


26th Arkansas Infantry

Lieut. Col. Iverson L. Brooks

36th Arkansas Infantry

Col. James M. Davie




6th Arkansas Field Battery

Capt. Chambers B. Etter


Missouri Infantry Division

Brig. Gen. Mosby Monroe Parsons


1st Brigade

Brig. Gen. John Bullock Clark, Jr.


8th Missouri Infantry

Col. Charles S. Mitchell

9th Missouri Infantry

Col. Richard H. Musser


2nd Brigade

Col. Simon P. Burns


10th Missouri Infantry

Col. William M. Moore

11th Missouri Infantry

Lieut. Col. Thomas H. Murray

12th Missouri Infantry

Col. Willis M. Ponder

16th Missouri Infantry

Lieut. Col. P. W. H. Cumming

9th Missouri Sharpshooter Battalion

Maj. L. A. Pindall



Brig. Gen. Thomas Green


Bee’s Cavalry Division

Brig. Gen. Hamilton P. Bee


Debray’s Brigade

Brig. Gen. Xavier Debray


23rd Texas Cavalry

Col. Nicholas C. Gould

26th Texas Cavalry

Lieut. Col. J. J. Meyers

36th Texas Cavalry

Col. Peter C. Woods


Buchel’s Brigade

Col. Augustus Buchel (k)


1st Texas Partisan Rangers

Lieut. Col. R. P. Crump

2nd Texas Partisan Rangers

Col. Isham Chisum


Bagby’s Brigade

Brig. Gen. Arthur P. Bagby, Jr.


4th Texas Cavalry

Col. William Polk Hardeman

5th Texas Cavalry

Col. Henry C. McNeill

7th Texas Cavalry

Lieut. Col. Philemon T. Herbert

bottom of page