top of page
Battle of New Madrid
Union Official Records

Maj. Gen. John Pope

Commanding Army of the Mississippi

Organization and Return of Casualties in the Army of the Mississippi

Surg. O. W. Nixon

Medical Director

Capt. Joseph A. Mower

First United States Infantry, Commanding Siege Train

Maj. Warren L. Lothrop

First Missouri Light Artillery

Brig. Gen. David S. Stanley

Commanding First Division

Col. John Groesbeck

Thirty-ninth Ohio Infantry, Commanding First Brigade

Col. J. L. Kirby Smith

Forty-third Ohio Infantry, Commanding Second Brigade

Col. John W. Sprague

Sixty-third Ohio Infantry

Brig. Gen. Schuyler Hamilton

Commanding Second Division

Col. Williams H. Worthington

Fifth Iowa Infantry, Commanding First Brigade

Maj. William S. Robertson

Fifth Iowa Infantry

Col. Nicholas Perczel

Tenth Iowa Infantry, Commanding Second Brigade

Brig. Gen. E. A. Paine

Commanding Fourth Division

Col. James D. Morgan

Tenth Illinois Infantry, Commanding First Brigade

Col. Gilbert W. Cumming

Fifty-first Illinois Infantry, Commanding Second Brigade

Brig. Gen. Joseph B. Plummer

Commanding Fifth Division

Col. Napoleon B. Buford

Twenty-seventh Illinois

Col. Washington L. Elliott

Second Iowa Cavalry

Flag-Officer Andrew H. Foote

U. S. Navy

Commander Henry Walke

U. S. Navy

Thomas A. Scott

Assistant Secretary of War

bottom of page